Leadership Overview

ICRISAT's leadership comprises a dedicated group of professionals who bring together a wealth of knowledge and expertise from various disciplines, cultures, and regions around the globe. This diversity is one of our greatest strengths, enabling us to tackle the complex challenges of sustainable agricultural research and development in the semi-arid tropics.

Our team consists of individuals with extensive backgrounds in agricultural sciences, economics, finance, communications, human resources, law, policy development, project management, and other relevant fields. With their collective experience and diverse perspectives, they provide strategic guidance and leadership in our pursuit of improved food and nutrition security, poverty alleviation, and environmental sustainability.

The diversity within our management team goes beyond professional expertise. It also encompasses a rich tapestry of cultural, linguistic, and regional backgrounds. This diversity fosters a stimulating and inclusive work environment, promoting innovative thinking, collaboration, and respect for different ideas and perspectives relevant to the drylands.

By harnessing the collective wisdom and varied experiences of our management team, we ensure that our research and development initiatives are tailored to the specific needs of the communities we serve. This approach allows us to design and implement impactful interventions that address the unique challenges faced by farmers, policymakers, and other stakeholders in the semi-arid tropics.

Leadership Team

Dr Jacqueline d’Arros Hughes

Director General, Ex officio member - ICRISAT Governing Board

Dr Victor Afari-Sefa

Deputy Director General – Research (Acting), Global Research Program - Enabling Systems Transformations

Sanjay Agarwal

Assistant Director General

Angshu Sengupta

Deputy Director General – Corporate Services

Dr Rebbie Harawa

Global Research Program - Africa & Country Representative - Kenya

Dr A Ashok Kumar

Global Research Program - Asia (Interim Director)

Dr Mangi Lal Jat

Global Research Program - Resilient Farm and Food Systems

Dr Sean Mayes

Global Research Program - Accelerated Crop Improvement

Lydia Murimi

Director – Business Development

Kunal Sarkar

Director – Human Resources

Ramon Peachey

Director – Communications